cooking, cuisine, kitchen

Pan- Seared Tuscan Kale

Kale has been all the rage the past few years. I didn’t catch onto this new healthy hit since I’m not a big fan of cooked greens such as spinach, so I thought I wouldn’t enjoy kale either. Which was a shame because Kale is one of those foods that has absolutely everything in it- loads of vitamins like A, B6, C, and K and minerals, it has antioxidants, its got beta carotene, and it has sulphoraphane which fights against cancer. So, adding this leafy green to your plate seems to be a great addition for a delicious meal but more importantly for you health. 

Tuscan Kale - Cavolo Nero

A couple weeks ago I courageously tried some pan-seared black kale, cavolo nero, and I was delightfully surprised. I was left asking for seconds and have since enjoyed this side dish a couple more times. It’s so easy to prepare and cook that works as a last minute addition to any meal. 

Apparently the traditional curly kale that most Americans eat can’t be found in Italy, so I’ve only prepared black kale or Tuscan kale which has a more delicate and sweeter taste. If you can find tuscan kale in your local grocery store then that would be my recommendation for this easy side dish. 

[yumprint-recipe id=’7′]

Leave a comment